Academic Staff

Head of Department

Prof Patrick McGorry

 Pat McGorry

Professor McGorry is Professor of Youth Mental Health at the University of Melbourne and a world-leading researcher in the area of early psychosis and youth mental health. His innovative, ground-breaking research has played an integral role in the development of safe, effective treatments that have helped transform the lives of tens of thousands of young people the world over.

He is a founding member of the National Youth Mental Health Foundation (headspace) Board, and Executive Director of Orygen Youth Health, Australia’s largest youth mental health organisation, comprising a world-renowned research centre and a clinical service targeting the needs of young people with emerging serious mental illness. He has played a major role in mental health reform in Australia as a key adviser to the Because Mental Health Matters: Victorian Mental Health Reform Strategy 2009–19, and is frequently asked to advise on youth mental health policy internationally.

Professor McGorry has published over 300 papers and book chapters, edited five books, and has been the recipient of numerous awards, including: Australian of the Year 2010, the Melbourne Award for contribution to community in 2009, the Castilla Del Pino Award in recognition of his significant contribution to the field of psychiatry in Spanish-speaking countries in 2009, the Australian Government Centenary Medal in 2003 and the Founders’ Medal of the Australian Society for Psychiatric Research in 2001.

General Manager

John Moran


Prof Helen Herrman

Prof Andrew Mackinnon

Prof Patrick McGorry

Prof Alison Yung

Associate Professors

A/Prof Andrew Chanen

A/Prof Sue Cotton

A/Prof Eoin Killackey

A/Prof Barnaby Nelson

A/Prof Paul Amminger


Dr Candice Boyd

Dr Louise Hayes

Senior Research Fellows

Dr Mario Alvarez

Dr Chris Davey

Dr Debra Foley

Dr Sarah Hetrick

Dr Alex Parker

Hok Pan Yuen

Research Fellows

Dr Kelly Allott

Dr Sarah Bendall

Dr Georgina Cox

Jane Dunkley

Kathryn Elkins

Dr Sherilyn Goldstone

Susy Harrigan

Dr Martina Jovev

Dr Suzie Lavoie

Dr Danijela Piskulic

Jo Robinson

Dr Magenta Simmons

Clinical Trial Coordinators

Dr Jennifer Betts

Melissa Kerr

Connie Markulev

Research Assistants

Alan Bailey

Shelley Baird

Lara Baldwin

Rothanthi Daglas

Emily Li

Laura Mundy

Sharnel Perera

Athena Politis

Jaymee Ryan

Toni Scaffidi

Faye Scanlan

Jessica Stephens

Heidi Strickland

Marija Strmota

Pamela Sun

Janet Tong

Kandice Varcin

Janine Ward

Amber Williams

Suzanne Wiltink

RHD Students

Lesley Berk

Alison Cheetham

Kate Filia

Kaveh Monshat

Mark Phelan

Jo Robinson

Anneliese Spiteri-Staines