News and events

Professor Helen Herrman has been inducted into the 2013 Victorian Honour Roll of Women.

Professor Helen Herrman is Professor of Psychiatry at the Centre for Youth Mental Health, the University of Melbourne, and Director of the World Health Organisation (WHO) Collaborating Centre for Mental Health in Melbourne.

The Honour Roll recognises women whose lives and careers had significantly shaped our communities and beyond for the benefit of all Victorians. Women have been nominated for their contributions in a diverse range of fields including health, advocacy, research, science, law, social justice, sport, arts, media and education, as well as their involvement in ethnic, Indigenous and regional communities.

The vision, talent and commitment of the women on the Honour Roll has enriched Victoria, and their stories of success have been a source of inspiration to all Victorians, particularly women.

Prof Helen Herrman

Professor Patrick McGorry was awarded the 2012 Dublin Prize from the University of Melbourne.

The Dublin Prize was established by the University of Melbourne in 1892 to commemorate the 350th anniversary of the founding of the University of Dublin.

It recognises outstanding contributions to the arts, music, literature or the sciences, and is usually awarded every five years, with the funds to be spent at the winner’s discretion.

Professor McGorry was recognised for his dedication to youth mental health. He said he was “honoured and delighted” to receive the prize and said it would help cover the costs of travel between Melbourne and Dublin where he is involved in research into the reform of youth mental health across Ireland. 

The judges noted that Pat’s “work in the field of mental health has been prolific and your impact on the field has been significant and global and has changed the way youth mental health is thought of by the public and by government. Furthermore you have generously supported initiatives by other organisations in the field of mental health".